Communicating your thoughts clearly

In my first job many moons ago, my boss told me: "You have great ideas, but they don't always come across in meetings."

That was tough to hear because I considered myself a good communicator.

I asked her to elaborate, and she said that it often sounds like I’m making up the idea as I speak and that I would be so excited about my idea that I would stop listening.

It was great feedback that many others only get late in their careers or not at all. I was lucky and took heed.

I would spend a lot of time preparing for meetings, analysing different ideas and points of view, and imagining how I would present arguments.

I planned simple analogies to crystallise my ideas and bring them to life.

Finally, I took a short course on active listening, which has probably delivered more ROI than any other skill I have learned.

It’s made me a better communicator, which is a skill that I will keep improving.

Today’s prompts are designed to help you think (and speak) more clearly.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Communication

How often do I practice active listening? What are my biggest challenges when listening?

2 - Communication

Think about people in my professional network or industry whom I admire. What can I learn about their communication style that will help improve my delivery?

3 - Quote of the day

“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.” - Oscar Wilde

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

How are you feeling as you sit down to write? List one thing that can make your mood even better?

Spread the love!

Do you know anyone who journals or is interested in journaling? Spread the love with them! Thank you so much in advance.

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.