Consumerism & contentment?

Daily Journal Prompts - 28 Sep 2024

A few years ago, I made a conscious decision to buy fewer things.

I was working at a bank, developing marketing content about needs vs wants, and it inspired me to put what I wrote into practice.

So, instead of following trends and buying new things, I tried focusing on buying only what I truly needed.

Over time, I realised how few things I actually needed.

In a weird way, I became more content with what I had.

Escaping consumerism became a badge of honour for me.

I take pride in not keeping up with the latest trends and brands.

In turn, I care less about owning them, which reinforces my original belief that I should step away from the consumerism game.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Self-reflection

What do you think would happen if you stopped paying attention to trends and focused on what you genuinely need?

2 - Self-reflection

Have you ever felt weighed down by owning too much?

3 - Quote of the day

“What consumerism really is, at its worst is getting people to buy things that don't actually improve their lives.” - Jeff Bezos

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What is one thing you will remove from your life today?

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.