Do you have a rival?

Daily Journal Prompts - 26 Sep 2024

I’ve been thinking about this a lot, having recently launched my solopreneurship career and figuring out how to benchmark my progress.

In my previous 13 years of corporate life, I’ve almost always had a rival to compete against.

Usually, it was someone with the same rank gunning for the same promotion.

I used them as fuel, determined to get my promotion before they did.

Rivalries can be some of the greatest motivators in life.

Think about the legendary sports battles: Nadal vs Federer, LeBron James vs Stephen Curry. Or in the world of business: Adidas vs Nike, Apple vs Microsoft.

These battles defined the industry or sport and elevated each player’s game, pushing them to surpass their limits.

Competition can be a positive driving force, but only if it is healthy. Fair play, integrity, and effort matter more than shortcuts or backstabbing others.

They inspire us to show up, put in the work, and deliver high-quality results.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Growth

How can I use rivalry to push myself to grow?

2 - Setting boundaries

How can I set boundaries to ensure rivalry stays healthy and doesn't become toxic in my life?

3 - Quote of the day

Regardless of the great rivalry between Brazil and Argentina, one only rivals who he admires. - Tite

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

Who is someone you admire and why?

Share this with a friend

If you find this useful, consider sharing it with a friend who may benefit from journaling.

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.