The power of accountability

Daily Journal Prompts - 2 Sep 2024

The power of accountability

Being accountable to yourself is one of the hardest things to do.

Our brains can justify any decision. A skipped workout becomes a well-deserved rest. Your brain says ‘just this once’ before eating an unhealthy meal.

The excuses start to pile up, and before you know it, you're off track.

I know this firsthand from my fitness journey. I struggled for years to find the consistency I needed. Every time I tried, I would make some progress, but then I'd slip right back into bad habits, especially with overeating.

That all changed when I found accountability through my partner (now wife). We committed to sending each other photos of every meal we ate and planned our exercise routines together.

It was simple, but it worked wonders. Suddenly, I had someone who expected me to show up and deliver, which made all the difference.

With this support, I lost 15 kgs and felt like I completely different person.

Today’s prompts are about building accountability into your life.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Accountability / Goals

What is one area of my life I want to improve, and what is the first step I can take? How can I build accountability into my plan?

2 - Accountability / Relationships

How has accountability (or lack of it) impacted my progress toward a specific goal in the past?

3 - Quote of the day

"Accountability is the glue that ties commitment to the result." – Bob Proctor

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What is my most important task today?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

How do you journal?

Handwritten in a diary? Digital? Audio? Video? I would love to hear what method works best for you! Just hit reply to share your thoughts!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.