What principles do you live by?

Daily Journal Prompts - 5 September 2024

What principles do you live by?

We all need a set of principles to guide us through life—a personal code to keep us grounded in the face of challenges.

Without them, it’s easy to get swept away by emotions, reactions, and external influences.

Over the years, here are my rules for living a meaningful life. These keep evolving as I grow, but it’s a great starting point.

  1. Family first – I prioritise time with my family, my anchor through life’s ups and downs

  2. Amor Fati – Love your fate, embracing life’s journey, both the good and the bad

  3. Never stop learning – Lifelong learning is essential for personal and professional growth

  4. Be a person of action – Hard work and dedication are the keys to achieving goals

  5. Plan, but enjoy the present – Balance future planning with living fully in the moment

  6. Always be positive – A positive attitude helps me face challenges constructively

  7. Be empathetic and compassionate – Kindness and understanding can change lives

  8. Live with integrity – Honesty and consistency with my values keep me on a path I can be proud of

These principles guide me, helping me live a life filled with purpose and fulfilment.

What rules guide your life? I'd love to hear them.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Self-reflection

What are my guiding principles for life? Am I truly embodying them? How can I better align my actions with my values?

2 - Work & Career / Values

What core values do I want to bring to my workplace, and how can I embody them daily?

3 - Quote of the day

“Happiness is the achievement of your values” - Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

List one way I will approach today differently from yesterday.

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.