When life takes a turn

Daily Journal Prompts - 7 Sep 2024

When life takes a turn

Life throws us unexpected twists without warning, often throwing our plans into disarray.

A few years ago, I had just quit my job to join one of the world’s best airports when my father was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer.

He lived about an hour’s flight away, but travel was difficult amid COVID restrictions, and I was faced with the choice to give up the job to spend time with my dad or risk not seeing him again.

I gave up the job.

I had to figure out how to make money quickly while paying off a mortgage, renovating my house, and planning a wedding.

It was a period of immense pressure and uncertainty, but journaling helped me process the chaos and maintain focus.

Today, I am sharing some prompts that helped me reframe change.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Change / Reframing

What’s one positive outcome that could emerge from this situation?

2 - Change / Reframing

What would I say to someone going through a similar change?

3 - Quote of the day

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence – it is to act with yesterday’s logic.” – Peter Drucker

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What habits or routines can I develop to create a sense of normalcy?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day or a week, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.