Does work dominate your life or vice-versa?

Daily Journal Prompts - 8 Sep 2024

Does work dominate your life or vice-versa?

Recently, I met some close friends after a long time.

Much of the conversation centred around how work takes up so much of our lives, and we spent the evening brainstorming ideas to live a more holistic life that incorporates work into it, rather than be dominated by it.

It’s not just the 8 or 10 hours we spend at the workplace.

It’s the way it bleeds into our mornings, our evenings, and even our weekends.

Whether it’s a toxic boss, endless deadlines, or the stress of juggling multiple tasks, nearly everyone has, at some point, struggled with work impacting their overall happiness and well-being.

For a long time, work was everything to me. My identity, my purpose, my focus.

Over time, I learned to separate the two and create a life outside of work.

It’s a delicate balance and constantly evolving.

Today’s prompts are about reflecting on your relationship with work and how it impacts your life.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Relationship with work

How can I balance work and personal life more effectively? What are three actions that I can take today?

2 - Toxic work environment

Reflect on a recent situation at work that felt toxic or stressful. How did I handle it, and what did I learn about yourself?

3 - Quote of the day

"You will never feel truly satisfied by work until you are satisfied by life." - Heather Schuck

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

List something memorable that happened today or yesterday.

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? Or did you hate them all? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.