How do you know if you are growing?

Daily Journal Prompts - 9 Sep 2024

How do you know if you are growing?

This is a question I constantly grapple with.

Growth can be subtle and often you can’t recognise progress in the short run.

You have to zoom out to notice change. You also need to know where your baseline is, whether it is measured through quantitative metrics or qualitative metrics or through self-reflection.

And, you have to be honest with knowing where you stand.

For example, when I used to teach digital marketing to adults looking to develop new skills, I had to look hard at myself and recognise that I was not a good teacher.

This drove me to take a course to make me a better teacher and by the end of the semester, I could clearly see areas where I had grown, both from my own reflection and from students’ responses.

But if I had not honestly assessed myself, I would have imagined everything was swimmingly good and lost out on growth.

Today's prompts are designed to help you reflect on your own growth journey.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Growth / Self-reflection

Think back to myself 5 years ago. What are some signs across different areas of life that demonstrate my growth since then?

2 - Growth / Overcoming challenges

What were my biggest challenges in the past, and how do I handle similar situations now?

3 - Growth

What is one area I want to grow in? What can I measure or assess to see growth over time?

4 - Quote of the day

“Be not afraid of growing slowly; be afraid only of standing still.” - Chinese Proverb

5 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What is one change you can make today to improve your quality of life?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? Or did you hate them all? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.