Daily Journal Prompts - 23 August 2024

#2: How we spend our time defines us

How we spend our time defines us

“You must hate yourself.”

That’s what my friends say when I tell them I am off most social media to spend time journaling.

Taking apart the quote, I see ‘hate’ manifesting in two ways.

First, that I starve myself of social media content, and the dopamine boosts it gives.

Second, that I ask myself questions that make me uncomfortable. I mean, who wants to be uncomfortable deliberately?

Yet, these are precisely the reasons I journal. Being off social media gives me time to think, and being uncomfortable leads to growth.

It takes guts to challenge yourself, your actions, and your way of living. So, journalers, be proud of yourself and keep journaling away!

Today’s Prompts

Work & Career

1 - Am you managing your time at work well? What steps can you take to manage it better and improve productivity? Does rest factor into your plan?

Self-reflection / Time

2 - Reflect on your screen time from the last week. How many hours did you spend on your various devices, and on what activities? How did this usage impact your mood and overall well-being?

Quote of the day

3 - “If you look at what you have in life, you'll always have more. If you look at what you don't have in life, you'll never have enough.” - Oprah Winfrey

The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

4 - List 2 things that went well today and 2 things that didn’t go well today. What can make tomorrow better (in 2 lines)?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

How do you like this format?

I’d love your feedback! Any suggestions to make it better are much appreciated! Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.