Guard your energy

Daily Journal Prompts - 12 September 2024

Guard your energy

A few years ago, a high school friend had gone overseas to study and, post-college, moved to the same city where I had moved to.

We reconnected and hung out a few times, but it was not the same.

She spent most of our time together talking about how many influential people she knew, constantly name-dropping—something I had no interest in.

At first, I tried to overlook it, but after a few more hangouts, I realised she completely drained my energy.

I decided to stop spending time with her and instead focused on spending time with people who bring positive energy to my life (and I try and do the same for them).

It was a difficult lesson and decision, but our time is limited, and we must be intentional about who we spend it with.

Here are some prompts to help you reflect on your energy and the company you keep.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Relationships

Reflect on a relationship where I feel drained. What steps can I take to improve/heal it or distance myself from the relationship?

2 - Relationships

Reflect on a time when I felt unsupported by a loved one. How can I communicate my need for support effectively?

3 - Quote of the day

“Positive energy is attracted to positive energy.”-Deborah Day, Be Happy Now!: Become the Active Director of Your Life

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What will energise me today?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? Or did you hate them all? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.