Daily Journal Prompts - 24 August 2024

#3: Where will you be in 10 years?

Where will you be in 10 years?

Around ten years ago, I listed what I wanted to achieve in the next ten years:

  1. Be debt-free (I had taken on significant credit card debt)

  2. Have a successful career and be in senior management

  3. Be fit and healthy

  4. Be married or have a significant other

I now have a large mortgage (and no credit card debt), have quit my job to launch my solopreneurship career, and am not yet at my ideal fitness level. Thankfully, the marriage goal worked out :)

So, do I measure the last ten years as a success or failure?

If I look at the exact statements, I failed. Yet, if I look at the positives, I’m financially well off, am confident in running my own business, and am training for a full marathon.

So, cut yourself some slack from time to time and take time to focus on the awesome things you have done!

Today’s Prompts

1 - Self-reflection / Goals

Do you want your life ten years from now to be similar to how it is today? What is one thing you can do today to invest in your future self?

2 - Positive thinking

What are three personal achievements you am proud of? Why are you proud of them?

3 - Quote of the day

“In seeking happiness for others, you will find it in yourself.” — Wayne Dyer

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

How can you make today even better? (Or tomorrow if you are reading this at night)

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.