How often should you journal?

Daily Journal Prompts - 27 August 2024

How often should you journal?

There’s a short answer and a long answer.

The short answer is - it depends on your preferences.

The long answer is - it depends on your preferences and what you are journaling about.

If you are dealing with something traumatic or stressful, the research shows that writing for 20 minutes at a time over four consecutive days leads to long-term decreases in health problems and improvements in psychological well-being, physiological functioning and general functioning outcomes.

If you are trying to build a positive journaling habit, you may want to write more regularly.

If you are recapping your day, you may want to write daily.

I don’t journal every day. I journal four or five times weekly, usually on the same topic for that week, until I achieve clarity on that topic.

There’s no rule. You do what you are comfortable with, and don’t worry about missing streaks. The last thing you want is that journaling becomes a chore you don’t look forward to it anymore.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Work & Career

What does my ideal workday routine look like? What can I do today to move towards my ideal workday routine?

2 - Relationship

Reflect on a challenge I currently have in a relationship. What steps can I take to solve or overcome the challenge?

3 - Quote of the day

“If you set your goals ridiculously high and it's a failure, you will fail above everyone else's success.” - James Cameron

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What made me happy today or yesterday? Describe why in 2 sentences.

I’d love your feedback

Reply this mail and let me know! I read every mail that comes in and would love to hear your thoughts about the format, content or your love for journaling!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.