Have someone to learn from

Daily Journal Prompts - 3 October 2024

My second job was at a bank in the Digital Marketing team.

In my first few weeks, I was surprised that my colleagues would openly discuss job offers they’d received at lunch— while our boss was sitting with us.

Over time, I realised that our boss was a natural mentor.

Everyone trusted him, and in turn, he gave valuable advice, genuinely wanting us to grow.

He became a mentor to me as well.

His most impactful advice was: “Don’t worry about the money. Focus on growing, and the money will come.”

I took his advice to heart when deciding whether to stay at the bank or leave for a new role with higher pay.

I stayed, focused on taking on challenging projects and found myself not only growing professionally but also being rewarded with bonuses and recognition.

I wouldn’t be where I am without his support and feedback.

Today’s prompts are focused on mentors in your life.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Finding a mentor

Think about people you admire in your professional network or industry. How can you approach them respectfully and express your interest in being mentored? How can you communicate what you hope to gain from the mentorship?

2 - Effective mentoring

How can you ensure that you make the most of your time together with your mentor? What strategies can you use to prepare for your meetings, set clear goals, and show appreciation for their guidance and support?

3 - Mentoring others

Reflect on the impact of mentorship in your career. How can you carry it forward and be a mentor to others?

3 - Quote of the day

"A mentor is someone who sees more talent and ability within you, than you see in yourself, and helps bring it out of you." — Bob Proctor

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

List down 3 possible mentors in your workplace.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.