Navigating loneliness

Starting my solopreneur journey came with an unexpected challenge: loneliness.

While I love the freedom from corporate bullshit, working alone began to drag me down.

My productivity and mood suffered.

Today’s prompts are the same ones I worked through to devise a plan to overcome my professional loneliness.

It helped.

I now have a hot desk arrangement at a co-working space. Though I don’t know anyone there, the energy of the people around me motivates me.

I also made it a point to meet friends or family three times a week, which boosts my social energy. Connecting with different people has given me many ideas and feedback in positioning my business.

It was not easy to emerge from the other side of the tunnel; I still feel lonely days, but small steps lead to big changes.

Be prepared that progress could be slow, and find a plan that is not overly ambitious; otherwise, it could potentially set you back further if you can’t stick to it.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Overcoming loneliness

What activities can help you feel more connected to others without draining your energy?

2 - Overcoming loneliness

How does loneliness impact your life? What social habits can you develop to be less lonely?

3 - Networking / Work & Career

How can you build and maintain a strong professional network?

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

Who is one person you can connect with who you haven’t connected with in a long while?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? Or did you hate them all? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.