The power of micro-transitions

I first came across the concept of micro-transitions months ago while listening to a podcast episode on my way home from work.

It was a stressful period at work and I found myself carrying tension home and being snappy with my family.

Micro-transitions are the shifts we make between roles and responsibilities.

For example, transitioning from work, where you create or deliver various outputs, to a home environment, where you are a supportive and responsible partner, is an example of a micro-transition.

Needless to say, the episode resonated with me.

I crafted some prompts to help me practice being more intentional during these transitions.

The outcome: while commuting home, I started visualising how my best self would behave when I got home, creating a mental checklist of my first three actions.

By embodying these small actions, I became more present and better aligned with the person I wanted to be.

You can learn more about micro-transitions here.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Work-life balance

What can you do at the end of each workday to ensure you leave work behind mentally?

2 - Becoming better

What is one area of your life where you struggle to transition smoothly between roles? Visualise how the ideal version of yourself will behave and make a checklist of the first 3 things you will do.

3 - Quote of the day

What do I want to achieve in the next space I step into?” - Dr Adam Fraser

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What is one thing you can do to feel fresh tomorrow?

Please share the love!

If you like the content I have a small request for you. Please share the newsletter with one other person who you feel could benefit from it. Thank you so much!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.