Q4: Here we go!

Daily Journal Prompts - 1 Oct 2024

We are officially in Quarter 4.

The final stretch.

I always find my behaviour during this last quarter different from the rest of the year. It’s usually one of two outcomes:

  1. I am ahead of my goals and start taking it easy, taking my foot of the gas. However, I find myself struggling to pick up the pace in Q1.

  2. I am behind on my goals and move heaven and earth to hit them. I then end up burnt out by the end of the quarter and start the new year in recovery mode.

This year, I am taking a measured approach to manage this better.

I’m focused on fewer things but those that will move the dial.

It’s also a time to make tough choices.

I’m a bit behind on my goals, and I know I won’t be able to accomplish everything without killing myself, so I have to prioritise and accept it and move forward, instead of getting upset with myself.

Today’s prompts are designed to help you think of your progress so far and make adjustments where necessary for the final quarter.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Self-reflection

What lessons from the past three quarters will you carry into Q4? Are you on track with your goals? Do you need to make any adjustments?

2 - Goal setting

By the end of this quarter, what will make you proud of your progress?

3 - Quote of the day

“Everybody is pretty good in the first quarter. Second quarter, you have a little bump or two on you coming into the half. By the time the third quarter comes around, you’re tired, you’re labouring. When you come to the fourth quarter, it calls on your character” – Jerry Jones

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What is the one goal you want to achieve this quarter?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

I’m looking for feedback on the format of the newsletter. Any suggestions to make it better are much appreciated! Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.