Reviewing your screen time

My average screen time from a few weeks ago

A few years ago, I found myself spending 6-7 hours a day on my phone.

I’d sit with friends and be scrolling through my feed. At home, my wife (then girlfriend) would say something, and I would just mumble, “uh huh”. I can’t remember how many planned exercise sessions I missed because I was doom-scrolling.

I knew I needed a change, so I took the drastic measure of deleting all my social media apps.

It took a few days to get out of the post-deletion funk, but I soon felt much better. I was sleeping better, exercising more, and being fully present with those around me.

My screen time dropped to less than 2 hours daily, mainly for WhatsApp and work-related tasks.

However, starting my own business led to re-downloading some social apps, and my screen time began creeping up again. This time, instead of deleting the apps, I set timers to limit usage, striving for a balanced approach.

Today’s prompts are questions I ask myself regularly to regulate my screen time and ensure I’m intentional about using technology. Enjoy!

Today’s Prompts

1 - Screen Time

How does my screen time affect my mood and overall well-being? Does it affect my relationships?

2 - Being present

What else could I have done instead of the time spent on my phone? Would these activities bring me more fulfilment than scrolling?

3 - Quote of the day

“A mind that is stretched by a new experience can never go back to its old dimensions.” — Oliver Wendell Holmes

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What did I see today or yesterday that was beautiful?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? Or did you hate them all? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.