The Emptiness Machine

Daily Journal Prompts - 25 Sep 2024

One of my all-time favorite bands, Linkin Park, recently released a new song called The Emptiness Machine.

I’ve been playing it non-stop these past few days. Its lyrics are powerful:

I let you cut me open just to watch me bleed

Gave up who I am for who you wanted me to be

Don’t know why I’m hopin’ for what I won’t receive

Fallin’ for the promise of the emptiness machine

We’ve all experienced this at some point in life—the feeling of being used, manipulated, and ultimately feeling hollow.

I’ve been there, feeling as though I’ve compromised myself to meet the expectations of others. It hurts when you realise it.

We can’t change the past, but we can focus on reclaiming our worth and learning from the pain we’ve endured.

Let today’s prompts guide you toward that healing journey.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Self-reflection

How have I given up parts of myself to meet others' expectations? How did it impact my sense of worth?

2 - Emotional healing

What steps can I take to reclaim my emotional well-being?

3 - Emotional healing

What does emotional closure look like for me, and how can I work toward it?

4 - Setting boundaries

What emotional boundaries do I need to establish or reinforce?

5 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

How can I practice self-compassion today?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

I’d love your feedback

What was your favourite prompt of the day? How can I improve the content of the newsletter? Reply this mail and let me know!

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.