Two sides of a coin

Daily Journal Prompts - 5 October 2024

I’d love your feedback

Before we dig in, I’m looking for feedback. Any suggestions to make it better are much appreciated! Reply this mail and let me know!

I was a terrible presenter. I’m still not perfect, but a lot better than I was.

I would get nervous. My hands became clammy. I would stammer my way through the presentation.

I tried to avoid it whenever I could.

It was one of my biggest weaknesses at work, so I signed up for a training course to improve my presentation skills.

At the start of the course, they asked us to present two slides. We had 20 minutes to prepare, and then they video recorded our presentations.

After about 30 minutes of theory, the rest of the session was a detailed analysis of everyone’s recording.

I watched in horror as people laughed at my video. My hand was moving like a metronome. I stumbled thrice, and my sentences didn’t flow.

However, when the class started giving their feedback, it turned out to be a very encouraging process. They pointed out the good parts of my presentation. I had an attention-grabbing hook. I focused on one key point per slide. I didn’t read from the slides.

I was so focused on the negatives that I completely ignored the positives. I actually had something I could build on!

That was a fantastic lesson that taught me a very valuable lesson: Don’t focus only on the negatives. Look for the positives too.

Today’s Prompts

1 - Growth

What is something you are struggling with? Reflect on the positives from this experience.

2 - Overcoming fears

How do you typically prepare for situations that make you nervous? How can you be more comfortable in these situations?

3 - Quote of the day

Develop success from failures. Discouragement and failure are two of the surest stepping stones to success.” -Dale Carnegie

4 - The 'If you don’t have time’ Prompt

What’s the most encouraging feedback you’ve received recently?

Get the most out of your journalling:

  • Choose one prompt: Focus on just one prompt each day to avoid feeling overwhelmed.

  • Be brutally honest: Reflect openly and honestly. This is your safe space to explore your thoughts and feelings.

  • Take your time: Sometimes it takes a few days to clarify your thinking. Here’s permission for you to take your time to unravel a prompt and not take on any new ones during that time.

  • Journal your way: Whether you prefer writing, audio recording, or video, choose the method that suits you best.

  • Don't stress about streaks: If you miss a day, don't worry. You can always revisit a previous prompt.

Keep growing,

Suren

Your fellow journaler

Reply

or to participate.